The Nelson Regional Sewerage Business Unit (NRSBU) is a joint committee of the Tasman District and Nelson City Councils. It oversees the Nelson Regional Sewerage Scheme (NRSS), which is evenly owned by each of the two Councils.

NRSBU was set up as a business unit in October 2000 and previously operated as the Nelson Regional Sewerage Authority. A Memorandum of Understanding that was signed by the two Mayors and CEOs in December 2000 governs the operation of the NRSBU.

Area covered by the sewerage scheme

The NRSBU treats municipal wastes (mainly domestic sewage) from

  • Nelson City - Stoke, Tahunanui
  • Tasman District - Richmond, Wakefield, Brightwater (the Waimea Basin) and Mapua

Industrial wastewater from

  • Alliance Nelson
  • ENZA Food
  • Nelson Pine Industries

Geographic overview of area

A map of the geographic area covered by the NRSBU.